1. Retained the executive type of president.
  2. Retained the principles of separation of powers.
  3. It sanctioned the existence of thirty-six states.
  4. Local government remained the third-tier of government.
  5. Provided for 768 local government councils in Nigeria and six area councils for Abuja (FCT).
  6. Local government executive to be democratically elected.
  7. Gave the Nigerian press a special place towards upholding the responsibility and accountability of the government to the people.

Leave a Comment

not allowed!