The second military coup in Nigeria seized governmental power from January 15, 1966 to October 1, 1979 when a new democratic system was witnessed.

The number of political parties that had the intention to contest in the federal election was about 52 in number.

But after the creation of FEDECO, it registered only 5 political parties as follows:

The National Party of Nigeria (NPN), the Nigeria People’s Party (NPP), the Great Nigerian People’s Party (GNPP), the People’s Redemption Party (PRP) and the Unity Party of Nigeria (UPN). Later in 1982, the Nigerian Advanced Party (NAP) was formed.

However, when the federal election was conducted, Alhaji Shehu Shagari of the NPN emerged winner and formed the government at the centre with Dr. Alex Ekwueme as the Vice president of the Federal Republic of Nigeria.

Leave a Comment

not allowed!