Before the Nigerian independence in I960, certain political parties existed. Such parties were the NPC and AG.

These political parties co-operated and formed a coalition government at the centre and that strengthened national unity which led to the motion of self-government in 1957. Consequently, Nigeria gained its independence on the 1st of October, 1960.

However, during the Nigerian First Republic, many political parties merged and formed two political parties Thus, the NPC, NNDP, MBDC, and LUF formed a political party called the Nigerian National Alliance (NNA) led by Sir Ahmadu Bello, the Saudana of Sokoto and Premier of the Northern region.

On the other hand, NCNQ AG, and NEPU formed the United Progressive Grand Alliance led by Dr. M. I. Okpala, the then Premier of the Eastern Region.
Meanwhile, the 1964 Federal Election was conducted which brought Alhaji Tafawa Balewa of NNA to power. But the military coup of January 15th, 1966 brought the government of Balewa to an end.

Leave a Comment

not allowed!