• After the 1960 independence, the first indigenous Governor-General of Nigeria was Hon. Dr. Nnamdi Azikiwe (Zik of Africa). He was representing Queen Elizabeth of England in Nigeria.
  • The first president of Nigeria was Dr. Nnamdi Azikiwe (Head of State) while Abubakar Tafewa Balewa was the first head of Government.
  • Nigeria adopted the Republican Government system from 1963 constitutional conference.
  • The first executive president was Nigeria was Alhaji Shehu Shagari.
  • The first senate president was Nigeria was Hon. Dr. Nwafor Orizu.
  • The first military head of state was major Gen. J.U.T Aguiyi Ironsi.
  • The first military president of Nigeria was Gen. Ibrahim Basamosi Babangida.
  • The head of the interim national government was Ernest Shenikan.
  • The first person that led a successful coup in Nigeria was Major Gen. Chukwuma Kaduna Nzeogwu.
  • The first person that led an unsuccessful coup in Nigeria was Major B. Suka Dimka.
  • The first military head of state that died in a military coup was Gen. Murtala Mohammed.
  • The first person that ruled both in military and democratic regimes was Chief Olusegun Obasanjo.


Leave a Comment

not allowed!