AU Permanent Representatives

This is another arm of AU that is made up of a committee of ambassadors of member States accredited to the OAU headquarters in Addis- Ababa, Ethiopia.

Note: Before the formation of OAU, the independent African states were divided into three separate political groups, namely:

THE BRAZZAVILLE comprises of Cameroun, Congo Brazzaville, Ivory Coast, Senegal, Niger, Benin Republic, etc. This group shared the same view with the Monrovia group hence they teamed up to fight against the Casablanca group during the formation of OAU.

THE MONROVIA consists of countries like Nigeria, Togo, Somalia, Tunisia, Liberia, Ethiopia, Sierra Leone, etc. This group was seen as the conservatives who strongly opposed the Casablanca group. This group teamed up with the Brazzaville group to dominate the OAU charter.

THE CASABLANCA was headed by the Ghanaian radical, Dr. Kwame Nkrumah and Sekou Toure of Guinea. This group consists of countries like Ghana, Mali, Guinea, Morocco, Egypt, Libya, etc. This group, during the formation of OAU, advocated for immediate political integration of all independent African states but was opposed by the Monrovia and Brazzaville groups who advocated for gradual political integration.


Leave a Comment

not allowed!