1.  External Sovereignty: This type of sovereignty has to do with the freedom of a state to conduct its foreign affairs in accordance with what it considers to be its national interest, to declare and also negotiate peace without interference of any kind.
  2. Internal Sovereignty: Is the supreme and exclusive power of a state to make and enforce laws upon the citizens and association within its territory. 
  3. Political Sovereignty: Is the ultimate power of the people (i.e. the electorates) to elect those that will govern them through elections. 
  4. Legal Sovereignty: Is usually vested in the constitution. It is the supreme authority of a state to make and enforce laws with all the powers it cares to employ without any external interference.

Other types of sovereignty are: De Facto and Dejure sovereignty.

Leave a Comment

not allowed!