Traditional Constituted Authority

These are leaders who hold sway in matters relating to local traditions, customs and cultures of the people. They are the traditional rulers of our different ethnic nationalities, who commune with the gods of the land.

Examples of traditional rulers who have this type of authority are:

  • The Obi of Onitsha
  • The Alafin of Oyo
  • The Sultan of Sokoto
  • The Oba of Lagos
  • The Ovie of Itsekiri
  • The Oba of Benin
  • The Emir of Kano

Functions of Traditional Constituted Authority

  1. They are solely in charge of the local traditions, customs and culture of their people.
  2. They commune with the gods of their land as chief priests or traditional heads.
  3. They help in maintaining law and order in their respective domain.
  4. They help to bring the government closer to their people.

Leave a Comment

not allowed!