AFRICA: The French colonialist adopted two colonial policies in West Africa namely direct and indirect system.

The indirect rule system was adopted outside the communes. The citizens outside the federation of communes were regarded as French subjects and were often treated harshly by the French people. The direct rule system was adopted in the four towns of the federation namely Saint Louis, Dakar (Senegal), Goree, Rufisque. These towns have designated the communes. The citizens in the Communes were accorded full French citizenship and they enjoyed every social service in the French colonies. Note: French territories are Dahomey (Benin Republic), Niger, Upper Volta (Burkina Faso), Mali, Mauritania, Guinea, Ivory Coast (Cote D’Ivoire) and Togo, which later in 1919 were given to France by the League of Nations.

Leave a Comment

not allowed!