There is still speculation on when the Hausa states were founded, but most historians agreed that it was between 600 and 900 AD. One of the most popular legends of their origin claimed that they originated from a prince of Baghdad called Bayajidda Abuyazida, who ran away from home.

Bayajida, according to story was a brave warrior who settled in Daura, near the present Kano state. As the story still goes, there was a huge snake that lived near a well in Daura.

This snake did not allow people to fetch water. Having heard of this, Bayajidda armed himself with his sword and killed the snake. At this point in time, the Queen of Daura was overwhelmed with joy and in appreciation got married to Bayajidda for his gallantry and courage.

Thereafter; Bayajidda and the Queen gave birth to a male child called Bawo, who in turn gave birth to seven children known as legitimate descendants of Bayajidda who founded the seven Hausa states – Kano, Zaria, Gobir, Katsina, Rano, Biram, and Daura. This group is known as the pure or original Hausa states.

The story also has it that Bayajidda had another seven children with Gwari – a slave girl, but their marriage was secret, and therefore, the children were illegitimate descendants of Bayajidda who founded another seven Hausa states – Kebbi, Nupe, Gwari, Yauri, Zamfara, Kwararafa, and Yarroba or llorin.


Leave a Comment

not allowed!