Political Divisions of Nigeria

At present, Nigeria is politically divided into six geo-political zones namely:

South – South: Rivers, Akwa born, Delta, Edo, Cross River and Bayelsa

South – East: = Enugu, Imo, Anambra Ebonyi and Abia.

South – West:┬áLagos, Ogun, Osun, Ondo, Oyo and Ekiti

North Central: = Plateau, Kwara, Kogi, Benue, Niger and Nassarawa

North – West: Sokoto, Kaduna, Zamfara, Katsina Kano, Kebbi and Jigawa

North – East: Borno, Yobe, Gombe, Bauchi, Taraba and Adamawa

Going by the states that makeup the six geopolitical zones, it is clear that Nigeria has about 36 component states with Abuja as the Federal Capital Territory (FCT), which is the seat of power for the country.


Leave a Comment

not allowed!