The Earth Movement

Movement of the earth can be classified into two namely: Rotation and Revolution.


The earth rotates on its axis from west to east once in every 24 hours, thus causing day and night. Note that 12 hours of daylight and 12 hours of darkness make up the 24 hours rotation.

The daylight is experienced when half of the earth’s surface comes into the rays of the sun while darkness is experienced when the other half of the earth’s surface is away from the rays of the sun.


This is the movement of the earth along its orbit round the sun once in every 3651/4 days, thus causing seasons of the year. Note that in every four years, a leap year is experienced and it has a total of 366 days.

Spring, Summer, Autumn and Winter are the four seasons of the year as experienced in the temperate regions while rainy and dry seasons are the two seasons of the year in the tropics (i.e. places between 231/20 N and 231/20 S of the Equator).

Leave a Comment

not allowed!